View of part of the Fujairah Corniche and the Hajar Mountains in the Background

Thursday, January 3, 2008

UAE Part of the Common Market of Gulf States

The six Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states have moved closer with the formation on 1 January 2008 of a single or common market.

This decision means that the nations of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE are now seen as equal economically which ever country people choose to live. They will be able to work, buy houses and companies, trade shares, go to school and receive medical treatment in all Gulf States.

The common market only applies to nationals and will not affect the rights of migrant workers in the Gulf.

Positive Benefits
This decision is a great boon to citizens who can travel for work and education with greater freedom and flexibility. It opens up the options for people.

Negatives and Queries
The common market, by the flow and possible flooding of migration, may well put pressure on employment, housing, infrastructure, schools and medical services, particularly in the boom cities of Abu Dhabi, Doha and Dubai.

Further details of this Common Market in the Gulf States can be found at:

Arab Times Online

Dr. Geoff Pound

Image: Logo for the G.C.C.